The Best Things in Life are Free!: YSL Mascara Review

I received Yves Saint Laurent newly redesigned mascara complimentary from Influenster for testing purposes. They say the best things in life are free, and this mascara may just live to that standard.

Featured imageI am very particular to which mascara I’ll use. I absolutely love Younique’s Moodstruck 3D Fiber Lashes ($29), but I can’t wear them everyday, so I have to pick a mascara that will give me enough volume for my lashes to show, but not too much so it gives me a more natural look. Until today, I have been using Light’s, Camera, Lashes 4-In-1 Mascara by Tarte ($20), and I have to say, It would be pretty hard to match that one in my book. However, I have found YSL to be a fair contender.

Here are a few things about YSL’s mascara that I particularly love (and trust me when I say, I am picky enough that the word “love” doesn’t come out very often):

Scent
You read that right. This mascara has a beautiful scent to it. I am not really used to my makeup smelling delicious, so this was a very pleasant surprise!

Variety of Colors
Influenster sent me the mascara in “High Density Black”, which is a good thing, since I am not huge about color mascara. However, this one comes in 6 different, very pigmented colors, which is great because it makes it a very versatile line.

Formula
The new formula is enriched with B5 Vitamins, which makes my lashes not look so dry and clumpy, which is often a problem for me. I also found that my lashes kept their volume for a while without smudging, which was super nice, especially since I tested it while walking in the rain!

Featured imageBrush
The brush is made of nylon fibers rather than the thicker stuff I have found in some of the drugstore brands I’ve tried. I have found that it gives my itty bitty lashes a pretty decent amount of volume, and the color spreads fairly even.

Bad news: This mascara isn’t perfect, so here’s the downside…

Curl
It has none. Unless you use a curler prior to applying, you’ll most likely end up with straight lashes, which isn’t a great look.

Layers
If you want that false lashes look that the mascara is supposed to achieve, you’ll need at least 2 layers of this mascara. You have to wait for the first one to dry, and then reapply. I have never had this issue with my Tarte or Younique mascaras, so this was a huge let down.

Removal
I think this mascara takes “waterproof” a little too seriously. I use Dior Instant Eye Makeup Remover ($30), which is amazing, and I never have to use more than one cotton pad to remove my eye makeup, but YSL is the exemption. There is some serious effort needed to get all of it off.

Overall, I’d give this mascara an A-. While there are certainly more pros than cons to it, I think the lack of curl to it is a huge issue (for me at least). I have super short, straight lashes, so while it gives me some serious volume and depth, It takes some extra time to do, which isn’t what I am used to with my Tarte mascara.

YSL’s new mascara can be found at Sephora for $32

Leave a Reply

